Naggar's Natural beauty and terrain make it suitable for a number of enjoyable activities.
Naggar Castle is traditionally believed to have been built by Raja Sidhi Singh in early sixteenth century. The stones for construction were brought from Grarhdhek of Baragarhacross the river Beas. Another belief is that stones were passed on the site by a Human Chain of Men and Women from the ruins of the fortified palace of Rana Bhosal called Grarhdhek situated below the present Baragaon village. The two main doors of the castle have been made by the use of Axe. The width (85*39*3) of these one the piece doors clearly shows the massiveness of tree from which they were extracted. No metal or Iron has been used in their fixing. The Wooden beams used in the walls have been prepared from whole trees.
Naggar Castle was used as a Royal residence and state head quarter until the British took over the whole Kangra and Kullu from Sikh's in 1846. When Raja Gyan Singh sold it to the first assistant commissioner, "Major Hay" for a Gun, The Latter converted the northern wing to the European way of living by putting in staircase, fire place and chimneys thus emerged a unique Amalgam of Indigenous architecture and an English country seat. He later sold it to the Government when it was used as a courthouse. In 1947, with the departure of the British the court-activity ceased but its door remained opened for visitors and travelers as it was converted into a civil rest house.